Cadogan Hall: Meet the Music

Cadogan Hall: Meet the Music


Cadogan Hall are launching Meet the Orchestra, a series of five free informal concerts from orchestras featured in the Zurich International Orchestra Series.

Meet the Music will give audience members the chance to see world-class performers in a more relaxed setting. Over the course of the hour-long performance, neither musicians nor the audience are required to wear formal dress and the programme will feature short works or extracts from longer pieces.

The audience will also be allowed to have a drink, sit in whatever position comfortable and even clap in-between movements as part of the #noShushing campaign. The orchestra will also be encouraged to interact with the audience as part of a wider aim to engage with people in the community and to encourage them to attend concerts in the future.

The first performance will be on Thursday 1 March with the Russian State Philharmonic Orchestra who perform the first and fourth movements from Prokofiev’s Classical Symphonythe Pizzicato Scherzo from Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4; dances from his ballet The Nutcracker and excerpts from Sleeping Beauty. Soloist HyeJin Kim rounds off the programme with the slow movement from Rachmaninov’s famous Piano Concerto No.2.

The other four concerts are as follows:

Russian State Philharmonic – Thurs 1 March 2018:

Prokofiev – Movements 1 & 4 from the Classical Symphony

Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 4 ‘Pizzicato Scherzo’

Tchaikovsky – Dances from the ballet ‘The Nutcracker’

Trepak (Russian dance)

Coffee (Arabian dance)

Dance of Shepherds

Waltz of Flowers

Tchaikovsky – Excerpts from Sleeping Beauty

Rachmaninov – Slow movement from his Piano Concerto No.2 (soloist HyeJin Kim)


Czech National Symphony Orchestra – Mon 16 & Weds 18 April 2018:

Mozart – Figaro Overture

Strauss – Thunder and Lightning

Rossini – Barber of Seville

Grieg – In the Hall of the Mountain King

Tschaikovsky – March Slave

Debussy – Clair de la Lune

Piazzolla – Libertango

Smetana  – Bartered Bride 3 Dances

Dvorak – Finale from Symphony No. 8


Flanders Symphony Orchestra – Thurs 17 May 2018:

Delius – On hearing the first Cuckoo of Spring

Bizet – Carmen Preludes: Aragonaise and Toreadors

Dvorak – Two Slavonic

Sibelius – Swan of Tuonela

Grieg – Extracts from Peer Gynt


Wurth Philharmonic – 6 June 2018:

Mozart – Serenade “Eine kleine Nachtmusik”

Tchaikovsky – Serenade

Rachmaninov – Piano concerto no. 2 Soloist Mihai Ritivoiu

Grieg – “Morning Mood” (From „Peer Gynt“)

Brahms – Hungarian Dances 1

About author