The Queen has reopened the National Army Museum following a three-year redevelopment. Joined by the Duke of Edinburgh, she toured the museum that will be open to the public later in March 2018. This is after a £23.75 million refurbishment.
The museum was first opened in 1960 by Royal Charter to collect, preserve, and exhibit objects and records connecting to the British Crown’s land forces. Based in Chelsea, it has been transformed into five thematic galleries. These include soldier, army, battle, society, and insight and help provide an opportunity to discover and discuss the nation’s armed forces and its role in society – including in flood defences and conflict but also in fashion and film.
The Queen’s own uniform that she wore while she was in the honorary commission of Brigadier in the Women’s Royal Army Corps (WRAC) between 1949 and 1953. The WRAC was disbanded in 1992 and the museum acquired the uniform in 1993.
In the café area, the Queen and the Duke met donors and museum staff before unveiling a plaque to mark their visit.